Thursday, August 25, 2011

DIY: Crested Deer Head

So I have been salivating over a high gloss white deer head for some time now. The price however, was not so exciting to me. Stella and Billie's dad had the most amazing solution...EVER. After hours of scouring the internet for a deer head, he happened upon a buck head on Ebay for a steal. Now, we will ignore the fact that it was an ugly brown color. Nothing that a little paint and lacquer can't fix! To give it an even more customized look, we found a wooden crest to accompany the deer head. We could not be happier with the results!

Supplies needed:
Buck Head
Paint Brushes
Primer
High Gloss White Paint
Lacquer
Wooden Crest
Spray Paint

Step 1: Locate your ugly brown buck head. As you all can see, the shape and size is perf! This is a resin buck head, so it is legit. Definitely high quality as far as buck heads go. Clearly, I know so much about that. 
Step 2: Prime that baby up. After covering all of the brown spots, and allowing Boris (that is what we named him) to dry, you will paint 2 coats of white semi gloss paint on the head. After allowing this to dry, paint a coat of lacquer onto the head. This gives you that super high gloss appearance. After allowing this to dry, you are ready to fix Boris on his crest.
Step 3: We located a wooden crest at Michael's for $10. Total steal. After a few coats of midnight blue spray paint, and another coat of lacquer...Boris was ready for his debut. Here is Boris in all of his glory, in his new home. 


The total bill for this project, $60. That's right! $60. The ones I had been eyeing over at Z. Gallerie were retailing for at least $250 for this size. Aaaaand, Boris even has his own crest. What more could a deer head want? We are happy with the finished product and the price! 

15 comments:

  1. Brilliant!! I am impressed and the end result is nothing less than fabulous!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I so do not love real deer head, but I LOVE this! Such a great idea!!

    Tiffany {Living Savvy}

    ReplyDelete
  3. Also.. I host a bog series called "Spray painters anonymous" I would love it if you guest posted! It could be this project or something else! Let me know if you are interested!

    Tiffany@savvydesignwest.com

    ReplyDelete
  4. It never ceases to amaze me that something totally old and outdated can become new and totally chic with some creativity - well done! This look is also very hot here in Europe so your taste is international. :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. You did a great job. Its amazing how a simple can of paint and EXCELLENT painting skills can really transform a piece, into some splendid.


    Rashon aka Mr. Goodwill Hunting

    ReplyDelete
  6. Thanks for linking. Amazing what a little white spray paint can do!

    ReplyDelete
  7. How did you fix Boris to the crest?

    ReplyDelete
  8. Great minds think a
    like.... I ordered ( i think ) this same deer head off of ebay for $34.00 + $9.95 shipping with same idea then i found this page... yours looks great can't wait to get mine..

    ReplyDelete
  9. Do y'all remember what size your heads were or the eBay seller you purchased yours from? I found a 22x16.25x13 inch one for $59 but that's the cheapest I found for that size. A "mini" one is cheaper but I feel like it might be too small?

    ReplyDelete
  10. Hi, I am currently attempting to do the same thing but I am stumped at how to attach the head to the plaque. How did you do it here?

    Thanks

    ReplyDelete
  11. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete

You are the best, the most, the everything.