Monday, June 17, 2013

Monday Musings: Lantern Love

My lovelies, how are thou? I have missed you so greatly. This is starting to resemble a Shakespeare novel. Did you all enjoy your weekend and shower your father with gifts and love? Mine consisted of trying to get my tan on and failing immediately upon its commencement. Freaking Mother Nature. She is a bitch. In other news, pretty sure my handyman is breaking up with me. Could there be anything worse? And the worst? It was by text. I mean, at least it wasn't a post it?  I have got to get my greedy hands on another one of those, stat. We have work to do here, bro. 

Today is something I have been coveting for some time now. Something so near and oh so dear to my hear. Let's talk about the world of lanterns. Lighting once thought to only apply in outdoor spaces has now been translated into the interior design world and in a big way. I am not talking about a pansy small lantern. I am talking about the enormous and oversized lanterns that at first glance you may be uncertain if it is over the top and obnoxiously large for the space but then quickly realize you are smoking crack. Bigger is better. Always. Always. Always. Let's gander at some ridiculous large lanterns on the interior, shall we?















Smitten? I knew we might agree on this. 

23 comments:

  1. Yes! Yes! Yes! Love a big ass lantern. Sorry your handeyman broke up via a text that is cruel. Stay strong you will find another man to fill his shoes!

    ReplyDelete
  2. AGREED. Anyone can do small lanterns, it's the big ones that make the impact and are more gutsy! Love them.
    xo Nancy
    powellbrower.com

    ReplyDelete
  3. I collect lanterns and absolutely adore them. They are so beautiful!
    Isn’t That Charming.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Love them!!! And these are beautiful images. Atfer seeing these if anyone was on the fence I think they are sold. Sorry about the handyman :( You'll find a better one!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I am so in love with lanterns! We used lots of lanterns at our wedding, and my mom uses them all over her house. Great photos, they make sure a statement!! Good luck with the handy man!!

    Xo-L

    www.simplylowcountry.com

    ReplyDelete
  6. Love that last photo with the gold lantern! Also, the post-it breakup episode is like my favorite one ever!

    ReplyDelete
  7. LOVE these, Lindsay! I especially like the more chinoiserie looking ones! Thanks girl - tons of inspiration here for sure. xoxo, G

    ReplyDelete
  8. Gotta love a big ass lantern!! I'm obsessed with finding the perfect bamboo one.
    Good luck finding a new handyman. Is a text breakup the new post it breakup?

    ReplyDelete
  9. that stinks about your handyman :( good luck in your pursuit of a new one! and I am totally sold on lanterns. the bigger the better of course...especially loving the red one in the cute dining nook :)

    ReplyDelete
  10. Omgosh I LOVE this! Soooo chic! Hugs from Cali! xx The Golden Girls

    ReplyDelete
  11. Smitten doesn't even begin to describe my love for them!

    ReplyDelete
  12. I really wish your handy man broke up with you via post-it. That would've made for an even better story, but your story now is still pretty great. Do tell! Why did your handy-man break up with you? Oh, and of course, the lanterns are all phenom!

    ReplyDelete
  13. I have a BIG lantern going over my dining table tomorrow. And it's a good thing.

    xo!
    Emily

    ReplyDelete
  14. The last one reminds me of my dining room lanterns. Sorry to hear about your handyman troubles.

    ReplyDelete
  15. Totally love all of these! The really colorful room with the orange lantern is so different and fun. I think my fave is the white cabinets, rustic table and blue distressed lantern. Love!

    ReplyDelete
  16. I've been trying to figure out how I'm going to hang one in my new foyer...which has boring, old ceilings that probably won't allow for one unless I want people to have to walk around it. :)

    ReplyDelete
  17. President of the bigger is better more is more fan club!

    ReplyDelete
  18. I love all of these lanterns and have been looking for the perfect one for my family room!!! Thanks for sharing some of your favorites, it has inspired me so much!

    Kayla
    http://adelightfulplacetodwell.com
    K. R. Dixon Designs

    ReplyDelete
  19. yes yes! There will be giant lanterns in my forever home!

    ReplyDelete
  20. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete

You are the best, the most, the everything.