Tuesday, May 21, 2013

Bookshelf Styling 101

The number one question/concern I get as a designer is, "how in the hell do I style things?" Just like that they say it. Well maybe it isn't as easy as it looks but I do happen to follow a certain practice each and every time. The goal of styling shelves, tables or the like, is to add dimension. It's like cooking. A little of this, a pinch of that, a scoop of THAT. Art behind, knick knacks to the side, picture frames in front... You get the picture. Even if if it feels like it is too much, it probably isn't. I set out to make no shelf the same. Try offsetting each shelf from the other. For example, position books vertically on one shelf and horizontally on an adjoining shelf. This is what I do, loves. Here is a little example for your visual learners. 
Style it: Modern Bookcase/Hair Bun art/Monogram Box/Frame/Floral jar/Lotus/Pineapple/Greek key lamp

Need some affordable art for your shelf stacking? My girl The Pink Pagoda is offering 20% off on all of her prints this week! Use code: SITELAUNCHSALE20OFF. Get it. 

So if you follow me via the Gram, you would already have noticed that I did some styling for a client this weekend. Now mind you, we are not done but this is a great start. Lots of layers and dimensions, and I am loving it. Not confident in your own styling skills? I will do this for you. Just say the word. You KC and surrounding area folks, shoot me a note at sadieandstella@gmail.com and we will get you all squared away.

24 comments:

  1. Well, obviously I love this! I found some more "stuff" for us too. Thanks for your fabulous help!

    ReplyDelete
  2. You now have me wishing that I had a bookshelf...... now I think I need to be on the hunt for one. xx

    ReplyDelete
  3. Love this post! Great job Lindsey!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Thanks for posting!! Looks awesome...and now I know how to style my bookcase in our new house.

    xo
    ivyandmolly.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete
  5. Sometime styling a bookcase can totally overwhelm me too. So many nooks and crannies in some shelves. Way to style is sista!

    ReplyDelete
  6. This is an awesome step-by-step how-to!!

    ReplyDelete
  7. You are a fantastic stylist. You always style your shelves, tables, etc to perfection!

    ReplyDelete
  8. I am really loving all of these peeks into your design projects.

    ReplyDelete
  9. You are the queen of styling! I need to improve my skillz.

    Champagne Lifestyle on a Beer Budget

    ReplyDelete
  10. You are an expert shelf styler!! Great job doll! Love our pic :-)

    ReplyDelete
  11. That styling job looks great! I think the key is books.. I've had people ask me to help them and own zero books. Makes it difficult!

    ReplyDelete
  12. the visuals definitely help! you know what your doing... im staring at my sad shelves as I write this. woof.

    http://itsthelittlethingsblog.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete
  13. You go you bookshelf diva you! I love all these visuals...you may just be the vignette master :)

    ReplyDelete
  14. I love that picture!!!! The styling is perfecto.So glad you are offering this service! xoxo

    ReplyDelete
  15. Such a good job! It's amazing what a bit of bookshelf styling can do to a room actually!

    ReplyDelete
  16. You've got some skills! Your styling is fantastic! Thank you so much for the shout out!! Jennifer

    ReplyDelete
  17. great work! my shelves are a work in progress and loved reading your tips!
    -- jackiejade.blogspot.com
    -- please vote! shoe styling contest

    ReplyDelete
  18. Where are your favorite places to shop in Richmond for rugs, coffe tables, side tables, art and decorating knick knacks?

    ReplyDelete
  19. Love it! I loved the visual. You are right is an art! One you have mastered!

    ReplyDelete
  20. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete

You are the best, the most, the everything.