Tuesday, September 25, 2012

DIY: Feather Art

So it has been a hot little minute since I have posted anything even remotely do it yourself. Shame on me. This project is so fitting for the busy, the lazy, the inept, the elderly. As they say, "So easy a Cave Man could do it." As of lately, that is just my speed. In effort to finish up our monochromatic master bedroom, some art was totally necessary to fill some blank walls. Since I am going for the plush, monochromatic aesthetic, loads and loads of texture is the constant theme running through my mind. So I got to thinking, what is more luxurious and lovely than white feathers? Nothing. That is what. Why not frame them? Follow my logic here? 
DIY Feather Art
Supplies:
Bag of feathers. You can get these at any craft supply store in basically any color your heart desires. To produce a piece this size, all you need is one bag of feathers. I totally misjudged and bought 6. Guess there is a potential for a lot of feather art in my future. 
Poster Board
Glue gun
Picture Mat
Frame

I mean, one look at the supply list and you geniuses already know what to do. Measure your picture mat and mark down the measurements on your poster board for assembly. Glue layer upon layer of feathers. I started at the top and worked my way down and then back up with 3 layers. After all, this is all about the texture. Then mat, frame and hang. I told you. Stella and Billie actually executed this project. I just supervised. 

And another angle. Please excuse the glare. 
So what do we think? I think it is the perfect, romantic, unique and classic piece to adorn one of our walls. Just a few finishing touches to this space and it will be ready for the big reveal. Loves!

21 comments:

  1. OHHHH good idea! Now will you teach me how to make a ju ju hat? I need one above my bed and I cant seem to justify the expense. let's make one!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'm so obsessed with feathers! Your reveal is going to be amazing. I need a sneak peek!

    ReplyDelete
  3. romantic and clever....and easy (the best part!).

    ReplyDelete
  4. What a great project! Love the frame you used and how it turned out! I think I might have to try it in my own room within a black matte frame.

    ReplyDelete
  5. So cute! Feather art is an awesome idea! Might have to give it a shot!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Great idea. I'm thinking it would be cute with a more modern white frame I have lying around and some colored feathers. Must try.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Such a cool idea!!!! Love how this turned out. But I love anything with feathers!! xoxo

    ReplyDelete
  8. Very cool! I have some extra feathers lying around and I just might have to try this! :)

    Champagne Lifestyle on a Beer Budget

    ReplyDelete
  9. I did an average job on the Reiver video games cheats ones scroll down a bit in the
    links below to read the Description sections: Border Reivers It's Alive!

    Visit my website; video Game genres

    ReplyDelete
  10. This would be cool to use to remember your angels who have gone to heaven. You could put their pictures among the feathers or around the matt. Such possibilities.
    Thank you

    ReplyDelete
  11. Wooo great I love feathers too. Nice frame on the wall. Its good to hear from you these decor things.

    Safavieh Shag Sg511 Sable Rug

    ReplyDelete
  12. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete

You are the best, the most, the everything.